Читать онлайн "Scorched" автора Armentrout Jennifer L. - RuLit - Страница 1


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 « »

Выбрать главу



Jennifer L. Armentrout



Copyright © 2015 by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Sale of the paperback edition of this book without its cover is unauthorized.

Spencer Hill Contemporary, an imprint of Spencer Hill Press

This book is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form whatsoever.

Contact: Spencer Hill Press

27 West 20th Street, Suite 1102

New York, NY 10011

Please visit our website at www.spencerhillcontemporary.com

First Edition: June 2015.

Armentrout, Jennifer L. 1980

Scorched: a novel / by Jennifer L. Armentrout – 1st ed.

p. cm.


A college student’s blossoming relationship with an amazing guy is threatened by her personal demons.

The author acknowledges the copyrighted or trademarked status and trademark owners of the following wordmarks mentioned in this fiction: AA (Alcoholics Anonymous), Dinobot, Dr. Phil, Durango, Facebook, Folgers, Grindr, Holy Cross Hospital, Imodium, Intervention, iPhone, Lexus, Louis Vuitton, Lowe’s, Mack truck, Mercedes-Benz, Miller Lite, My Little Pony, One Direction, Pepsi, Pepsi Max, Redd’s Apple Ale, Sallie Mae, Snapchat, Sonata, Target, Thermos, Tinder, Titanic, Toaster Strudel, Tom Hardy, Transformers, Tumblr, Tums, US Weekly, The Walking Dead

Cover design by Sarah Hansen of Okay Creations

ISBN 978-1-63392-016-3 (e-book)

ISBN 978-1-63392-015-6 (paperback)

Printed in the United States of America

Also by Jennifer L. Armentrout (J. Lynn)

The Covenant Series

(Spencer Hill Press)

Daimon (novella)




Elixir (novella)



The Titan Series

(Spencer Hill Press)

The Return

The Power (2016)

The Lux Series

(Entangled Teen)

Shadows (novella)




Obsession (Entangled Covet)



The Nephilim Rising Series

(Entangled Edge)


The Dark Elements Series

(Harlequin Teen)

Bitter Sweet Love

White Hot Kiss

Stone Cold Touch

Every Last Breath

The Gamble Brothers Series (Entangled Brazen)

Tempting the Best Man

Tempting the Player

Tempting the Bodyguard

The Wait For You Saga


Wait for You

Trust In Me

Be With Me

Stay With Me

Fall With Me

Dream Of You (novella)

Standalone Titles


(Spencer Hill Press)

Don’t Look Back



(Spencer Hill Contemporary)

This book is for you, the reader,

for making this story possible,

and for anyone who has pulled themselves

free of life’s darkest moments.

Chapter 1


This had to be the absolutely stupidest thing I’d ever seriously considered agreeing to take part in. That was admitting to something pretty epic, because I’d done a lot of stupid in my twenty-two years strutting around on planet Earth. And I mean, a lot of stupid.

At the ripe age of six, I’d shoved a fork in my pappy’s toaster when my Toaster Strudel got stuck—though I’m pretty sure even back then I knew that wasn’t a clever thing to do. That ended in a trip to the emergency room and a near heart attack for the dear old man, who, after that, refused to babysit me again. Then, when I was ten, I allowed my older brother—older by barely a year—Broderick to convince me that jumping from the porch roof into the pool down below was a totally cool idea and not dangerous at all. That also ended with a trip to the ER, a broken leg, and a summer-long grounding for Brody.



2011 - 2018